Messageboard · Home Friday, August 07, 2020
Latest Articles
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
Navigation Messageboard
Contact Me
Web Links
Photo Gallery
Game Info
2015 1st Team Game Info
2014 1st Team Game Info
2013 1st Team Game Info
2012 1st Team Game Info
2011 1st Team Game Info
2010 1st Team Game Info
2009 1st Team Game Info
2008 1st Team Game Info
2007 1st Team Game Info
2006 1st Team Game Info
2005 1st Team Game Info
Hall of Fame
Tony Smith ('03-'07)
Barrie McDermott ('96-'06)

Click Here
2013 Sponsors List
2012 Sponsors List
2011 Sponsors List
2010 Sponsors List
2009 Sponsors List
2008 Sponsors List
2007 Sponsors List
2006 Sponsors List
2005 Sponsors List
Fans Get Chance to Vote for Golden Boot Winner
Posted by southstander on November 19 2007 - 14:19:52

Past Winner
By Richard de la Rivière

Rugby League fans will be given an opportunity to vote for winner of this year's 'Rugby League World' magazine Golden Boot, the world's leading international Rugby League award.

Read more here...

The Golden Boot is awarded each year to the player adjudged by a panel of experts to have been the outstanding world player of the year. But this year the members of two leading Rugby League websites - based in the United Kingdom, and based in Australasia - will be entitled to cast their votes, with each website counting as one panel member out of a total of 14 panellists. The remaining twelve panel members comprise leading Rugby League commentators, writers and former players.

Voting for the 2007 'Rugby League World' Golden Boot award will begin on Saturday 17 November, after the France v New Zealand Test match.

Six players have been shortlisted to win the this year's award and fans can help to decide the winner by voting on either of the Total Rugby League or League Unlimited fans' forum websites.

The Golden Boot award was inaugurated in 1985 to give recognition to the world's best Rugby League players. Queensland and Australia captain Wally Lewis scooped the first award, with other legendary figures including Brett Kenny, Ellery Hanley, Mal Meninga, Andrew Johns, Stacey Jones and Darren Lockyer also winning the coveted title.

The panel will decide on the award and also the make up of the annual World XIII and the International Awards.

The six contenders for the Golden Boot are (in alphabetical order):

Roy Asotasi (South Sydney Rabbitohs & New Zealand)
Gareth Ellis (Leeds Rhinos & Great Britain)
Jamie Peacock (Leeds Rhinos & Great Britain)
Steve Price (New Zealand Warriors, Queensland, Australia & All Golds)
Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm, Queensland & Australia)
Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys, Queensland & Australia)

The International awards are:

Best International Newcomer
Best International Referee
Best International Coach
Best International Back
Best International Forward
Best Developing Nations Player

The winners will be announced in December's issue of Rugby League World magazine, which is on sale on Friday 30 November.



Remember Me

Lost Password?
Google Adverts
Member Poll
How will the Rhinos fare in the opening fixtures of the two part season?

Top of the pile

Top Four

Top Eight

Bottom Four

You must login to vote.
All The Latest News
Google Adverts

Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. However, if you feel any material on this website is copyrighted or incorrect in any way please contact us at so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.

RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners if further assistance is required.

(C)1999-2015 RLFANS.COM