Messageboard Home Saturday, July 04, 2020
Latest Articles
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
Navigation Messageboard
Contact Me
Web Links
Photo Gallery
Game Info
2015 1st Team Game Info
2014 1st Team Game Info
2013 1st Team Game Info
2012 1st Team Game Info
2011 1st Team Game Info
2010 1st Team Game Info
2009 1st Team Game Info
2008 1st Team Game Info
2007 1st Team Game Info
2006 1st Team Game Info
2005 1st Team Game Info
Hall of Fame
Tony Smith ('03-'07)
Barrie McDermott ('96-'06)

Click Here
2013 Sponsors List
2012 Sponsors List
2011 Sponsors List
2010 Sponsors List
2009 Sponsors List
2008 Sponsors List
2007 Sponsors List
2006 Sponsors List
2005 Sponsors List Recognises 2004 Stars
Posted by southstander on February 16 2005 - 09:14:40

2004 POS

A fantastic night was had by all at the 2004 Awards Night, held last night at the Leeds Rugby Club.

The guest of honour; Danny McGuire receiving the 2004 Player of the Season Award; Lee Smith receiving the 2004 Senior Academy Player of the Season; Matt Diskin and Wayne McDonald gave us all a night to remember.

If you made it, relive the moments, if you didn't, here are the highlights.

A good crowd assembled in the club and immediately got to work on SpicyRhinos fiendish prize quiz. The players arrived, got stuck into the quiz themselves and signed autographs while posing for pictures. After giving the stragglers chance to arrive, the players got up on stage and were extensively grilled by SouthStander. Answers to questions set by posters, along with some from the floor, were answered openly and fully, to the appreciation of the audience.

After a forty minute grilling, it was presentation time.

First up was stand-out Senior Academy player Lee Smith. Lee scored 21 tries in 18 appearances for the Senior Academy last season and impressed the judges.

This season he has been part of the first team squad for the WCC and opening game, just failing to make the final seventeen. We expect big things of im this season in the first team as well as the Academy. Lee was presented with his award and keepsake by intrepid Academy reporter, Matthew Horton.

The main award of the night was to Danny McGuire, who required little introduction. Danny was presented with his Player of the Season award, voted for over all of the weekly Superleague rounds, by Man-of-the-Match 2004 Sponsor David Bywater. Danny thanked everyone for voting for him and said that he hoped that he could continue to be a part of a successful Rhinos side in 2005.

Matt Diskin and Wayne McDonald then assisted in the 2004 and 2005 Sponsors draws. Jill Bateson, Daniel Bates, and Edward Janiczeit won players shirts as 2004 sponsors, with Richard Heighton, Paul Wardley and Andrew Rowney winning Long Bar Season Passes as 2005 Sponsors.

All that remained was to present a cheque for £2,284.92 to the Danny Scott Fund, as a result of all the great fund raising that has taken place through in 2004 (thanks to everyone who has been involved).

The raffle was then drawn, with El Barbudo winning the main prize, a fully signed new away shirt. He then genereously donated the shirt back to be auctioned for the '2005 Danny Scott Fund', a round of applause for Geoff for this kind gesture.

A fantastic night then, hopefully enjoyed by all, and capped by a viewing of the Grand Final on the big screen.

The next event will be on 7th March, when it will be an open house, at the same venue. for 'A Question of Rhinos', in support of Barrie McDermotts Testimonial year.



Remember Me

Lost Password?
Google Adverts
Member Poll
How will the Rhinos fare in the opening fixtures of the two part season?

Top of the pile

Top Four

Top Eight

Bottom Four

You must login to vote.
All The Latest News
Google Adverts

Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. However, if you feel any material on this website is copyrighted or incorrect in any way please contact us at so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.

RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners if further assistance is required.

(C)1999-2015 RLFANS.COM