Messageboard Home Saturday, August 15, 2020
Latest Articles
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
rhinoms Superleague ...
Navigation Messageboard
Contact Me
Web Links
Photo Gallery
Game Info
2015 1st Team Game Info
2014 1st Team Game Info
2013 1st Team Game Info
2012 1st Team Game Info
2011 1st Team Game Info
2010 1st Team Game Info
2009 1st Team Game Info
2008 1st Team Game Info
2007 1st Team Game Info
2006 1st Team Game Info
2005 1st Team Game Info
Hall of Fame
Tony Smith ('03-'07)
Barrie McDermott ('96-'06)

Click Here
2013 Sponsors List
2012 Sponsors List
2011 Sponsors List
2010 Sponsors List
2009 Sponsors List
2008 Sponsors List
2007 Sponsors List
2006 Sponsors List
2005 Sponsors List
Senior Academy Get their Rewards
Posted by southstander on October 06 2005 - 08:23:34

By Matthew Horton

It was a pleasure on Monday night to be invited to the Premier Suite at Headingley for the first Academy Awards night.

There were six awards on offer on the night, including the shooting star.

Present on the night were the majority of the Rhinos first team squad. The night began with a drink before we sat down at our table. Where we were lucky enough to be joined by Tony Smith, Phil Daly and Gary Hetherington. The food was especially fine, including John_D's tart.

The first awards was the Appreciation Award from the Academy department which went to Tara Myers, who cleans the training facilities and also provides breakfast for all the players at the Kirkstall training base on a daily.

Both grades presented a Players Player of the Year award and the Player of the Year as judged by the Coaching staff.

The Junior Academy Players Player of the Year was Luke Gale who was presented with his award by Kevin Sinfield. Michael Hayley got the coaches vote, with John Bastion on hand to dish out the trophy.

Then the main award (in our eyes) of the evening was for the Shooting Star and was the player adjudged by, according to Gary Hetherington, "the experts from" to be most likely to progress to first team success in the years to come. I had the pleasure of being on stage to announce the winner as Danny Williams.

For the Senior Academy Jordan Tansey was named Players Player of the Year, he was presented with his trophy by Willie Poching and Senior Academy sponsors Leeds Metropolitan University. Chris Buttery was presented with his award as the Player of the Year by coach Stuart Wilkinson.



Remember Me

Lost Password?
Google Adverts
Member Poll
How will the Rhinos fare in the opening fixtures of the two part season?

Top of the pile

Top Four

Top Eight

Bottom Four

You must login to vote.
All The Latest News
Google Adverts

Whilst every effort is made to ensure that news stories are correct, we cannot be held responsible for errors. However, if you feel any material on this website is copyrighted or incorrect in any way please contact us at so we can remove it or negotiate copyright permission.

RLFANS.COM, the owners of this website, the RLSA (Rugby League Supporters Association) or the 100% League Network are not responsible for the content of its sub-sites, please email the author of this sub-site if you feel you find an article offensive or of a choice nature that you disagree with.

Email RLFANS.COM's owners if further assistance is required.

(C)1999-2015 RLFANS.COM